AU Press Releases

Alfred University tabs five for Athletics Hall of Fame

ALFRED, NY -- Alfred University will induct five former student-athletes into its Athletics Hall of Fame during an on-campus banquet Saturday, Oct. 5, during the University’s annual Homecoming celebration.


Members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2013 are: former track star Wes Carr ’82; football standout Joe Haven ’91; Alpine skier Conor Walsh ’02; women’s lacrosse and tennis all-star Lindsay deCsipkes ‘02; and swimming All-American Pat Kerwin ’03.


Carr was a member of the AU indoor and outdoor track and field teams from 1978-82. He holds AU outdoor track and field records in the 100-meter dash (10.70 seconds) and 200-meter dash (21.50 seconds), both set when he won titles in those events at the Independent College Athletic Conference (ICAC) championships in 1980. Carr was a two-time NCAA qualifier, competing in the 200-meter dash at the 1980 outdoor championships and as part of the 4X100-meter relay at the 1981 outdoor championships. Carr helped lead the Saxons to back-to-back team titles at the 1980 and 1981 ICAC outdoor championships. He was part of teams that formerly held the school’s 4X100-meter relay and 4X400-meter relay outdoor records and 4X200-meter relay and 4X400-meter relay indoor records. He is also the former school indoor record holder in the 55-meter dash and 60-meter dash.


Haven played on the Saxon football team for four years (1986-89), starting as a receiver his final three seasons. He finished his career with 80 catches for 1,333 yards and 15 receiving touchdowns. He shared the record (since broken) for touchdown catches in a game (three, against Brockport, 1989). Haven’s best season came his senior year, when he had 46 catches for 704 yards and eight TDs, helping lead AU to the ECAC North Bowl championship.


Walsh was a four-year member of men’s Alpine ski team (1999-2002), serving as a team captain his final three seasons. During his career, he skied on men’s teams that went a combined 40-0 in Empire Conference regular season races and won four conference team titles. In his final three seasons, Walsh won the individual Empire Conference crown and led the Saxons to the United States Collegiate Ski Association (USCSA) National Championships. Placed second in the combined individual standings at the 2002 United States Collegiate Ski Association (USCSA) Mid-Atlantic Regionals and was third in the individual combined standings at the 2001 regionals.


deCsipkes played four seasons on the women’s lacrosse team (1999-2002) and women’s tennis team (1998-2001). She was a star in lacrosse, starting at midfield all four years. As a junior in 2001, when she helped lead the Saxons to a berth in the New York State championship tournament, she was a First Team Empire 8 Conference all-star, Intercollegiate Women Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Division III New York State Region Second Team all-star, and New York State Women’s Collegiate Athletic Association Third Team all-star. The following year, she repeated as a First Team Empire 8 selection and was also named a Second Team ECAC Upstate all-star. She set school single-season and career records (since broken) for assists. deCsipkes also excelled on the tennis court, earning Second Team Empire 8 honors in 2001.


Kerwin was a four-year member of men’s swimming and diving team (1998-02). He earned  All-American honors as a sophomore in 2000 and as a senior in 2002 and in his career earned five total All-American certifications: one individual and four relays. As a sophomore in 2000, he swam for an AU team that placed 15th at the NCAA Division III championships. Kerwin was the Upper New York State Collegiate Swimming Association champion in the 100 backstroke in 2002 and was part of the 200-yard freestyle relay team that in 2002 set an Empire 8 Conference record. The former AU record-holder in the 50-yard free, he was part of the 200 free relay team that still holds the AU school record, and swam on 200 medley and 400 free relays that formerly held school marks.


Anyone wishing to attend the Hall of Fame Banquet is asked to call the AU Athletic Department at 607-871-2193.