AU Press Releases

Women's Center bestows annual leadership awards

Alfred University (AU) students Audrey Arnold, a junior environmental studies major, and Alexandria Scott, a sophomore psychology major, are recipients of the 2013 Alpha Kappa Omicron (AKO) Social Change Leadership Award for junior-level women and the AKO Leadership Achievement Award for sophomore women, respectively. 

The AU Women’s Leadership Center annually presents AKO leadership awards to junior- and sophomore-level women. The social change award is given to a junior whose leadership has made a substantive and lasting change for the campus community. The award includes a $500 cash gift for demonstrating leadership in an AU student club or organization with a mission of service-leadership or volunteerism. The achievement award recognizes an outstanding sophomore woman for her leadership in academics and active involvement on campus; she is given a $250 cash gift.

AKO was an active AU sorority from 1944 to 2003. Its guiding principles were equity, diversity, service and academic excellence. The AKO awards were established in 2011 to encourage sophomore and junior women in personal and campus-based excellence in leadership. Applications are reviewed by a panel of AU staff and AKO alumnae. Criteria for selection include academic performance, campus involvement, and creating sustainable opportunities to improve the AU experience for students. The AKO Leadership Awards are made possible by gifts from the AKO alumnae sisterhood.

Arnold, a graduate of Spencer-Van Etten Central School, Spencer, is the daughter of Christopher and Renee Arnold of Erin. Scott, a graduate of Lewisburg (PA) Area High School, is the daughter of Richard and Diane Scott of Lewisburg.